10 Things you Probably didn’t Know about Jamaica

Standard

Alexis Chateau

In Homesick on my Honeymoon, I shared that few people ever believe me when I state my nationality. My mother-in-law often jokes that maybe if I put on a real Jamaican accent, people would take my claim more seriously. One person also had the audacity to tell me I’m a tad too light-skinned to be Jamaican.

Yet, I was born in Jamaica, and lived there for 25 of my 26 years. With that said, you’re likely wondering if the stereotypes are true. Am I Bob Marley’s biggest fan? Do I smoke weed? And wow… isn’t Jamaica just the most amazing little slice of paradise ever? No to the first two, and sometimes to the last.

But to share some real truths about my home country, here are ten things you probably didn’t know about Jamaica – as told by a Jamaican.

#10: Foreigners Love Bob Marley more than We Do

When…

View original post 1,524 more words

Leave a Reply

