Cultured Pt2

Standard

Recently a friend of mine forced me into a contract stating her and I must do one “thing” a month. Whether it be go out to eat, go see a play, take a road trip; something that gets me out the house…I am a home body. I reluctantly signed the nonverbal contract and obliged her for what I thought would be a temporary agreement; you know them one’s when you say you are gonna do something, do it for a few weeks and then stop because “life got too busy?” Bazinga.

Free Book Store

Recently on the “wonderful” app of Facebook there was a video circulating about a bookstore (warehouse) in Baltimore that is completely free. What’s the catch? Nothing. You can donate books you no longer want and pick up books you find interesting. No more no less.

We decided to give it a try and to our surprise, it was a diamond in the rough. While the books were not cataloged like an official library they were still organized enough to go into a section and hope to find something of interest.

Shopping

While trivial, she needed some clothes for work. I hate shopping; if it can’t be done on Amazon, it most likely will not happen. However comma it wasn’t about the shopping experience more so the bonding held while helping a friend. Our conversation flowed more than the actual purchase of attire. And, sometimes you need someone to accompany you for companion/fellowship. What should have been an hour trip turned to 3/4 hours.

Raphael Saadiq

I was boosted when I heard Raphael Saadiq was coming to town. I immediately purchased tickets (decent seats) at the Kennedy Center; we went and while the show was not what we expected again, it was the friendship and “cultural experience for our month of July expedition. A Evening was had in wonderful company.

National Museum of Woman’s Art

What was originally a brunch date turned into a stroll through the D.C. streets turned cultural experience for the month of August. The National Museum of Woman Art.

“The National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts. (NMWA, 2016)

The Future

Who knows what the future may hold for the adventures we embark upon. What I do know is, reaching out of your comfort zone to experience new things is exciting. Gaining cultural experiences in some ways makes you smarter than a person who is well learned (in my opinion).

If it weren’t for my friend, my life would probably be completely about my child, constantly complaining I don’t do anything for me, and when he gets older try to find myself- by then, it would be too late.

1-luv

D

Hood Citations

Maryland Book Bank https://www.mdbookbank.org/?
The Kennedy Center http://centerwashingtondc.com/kennedy//Events.php?
National Museum of Woman’s Arts https://nmwa.org/

Leave a comment