Cuss a Resolution

Standard

It’s the end of the year and the notion is to create New Year Resolutions. We sit at the table, at our desk, in our beds; on the couch with pencil and paper (if your old school) and transcribe what we will achieve the following year…for some, only to never accomplish the goals we set forth.

The traditional sense…I would write down the generic list:

  1. Lose weight
  2. Go to school
  3. Pray more
  4. Become debt free
  5. Travel

Bih did none of it. Well, I did it for a month then fell off the wagon. Started back up and would fall right back off only for it to be November/December and realize I didn’t accomplish sugar.honey.ice.tea on my list. Life happens; you either learn or continue to repeat it until you understand what life was trying to teach. There were times I did not learn.

One day an associate of mine shared her variation of what she does. She writes down all the things she was blessed with and what she would like Baby Jesus to bless her with the following year. I tried it and discovered that I would be so hung up on what I wanted to be blessed with that anything remotely resembling my request was an automatic assumption that Baby Jesus answered my prayers (ex. get a man *note the face* and didn’t. Lol).

I have come to the conclusion I will no longer write down resolutions. Instead thank Baby Jesus for the lessons I’ve learned over the course of the year, the blessing I have received, and continue to work harder in bettering myself as a whole. Taking one day at a time. New Year’s are not about resolutions- it is solely the beginning of another year. There are things we want for ourselves that we try to force only for it to not end so well because it was not our time. So, instead of creating resolutions, try to continuously be the best you you can be. I have learned, when the time is right – it will happen! As long as you continue to take care of you, when your time comes and you have been blessed, you will be equipped to receive your blessing and hold with regard.

Happy New Year

D

One thought on “Cuss a Resolution

Leave a comment